Home Archive 04/May/2018 02:39 PM

President Abbas announces newly elected PLO Executive Committee


RAMALLAH, May 4, 2018 (WAFA) – President Abbas announced on Friday morning that the factions of the Palestine Liberation Organization (PLO), at the end of the PNC 23rd ordinary meeting in Ramallah, unanimously elected the 15 members of the PLO Executive Committee.

The 15 newly elected members are: Mahmoud Abbas (President), Saeb Erekat, Azzam al-Ahmad, Hanan Ashrawi, Tayseer Khaled, Bassam Salhi, Ahmad Majdalani, Faisal Aranaki, Saleh Ra’fat, Wasel Abu Yousef, Ziad Abu Amr, Ali Abu Zuhri, Adnan Husseini, Ahmad Bayyoud Tamimi, and Ahmad Abu Houli.

Abbas said there are still three vacant seats in the PLO Executive Committee “because we do not want anyone to remain outside of national unity. We do not like to exclude anyone. Factions such as the Popular Front [for Liberation of Palestine] and Hamas maybe [accepted as members of the Executive Committee] if they accept national unity and abide by the decisions of the PLO.”  

The President, meanwhile, announced child activist imprisoned in Israeli jails Ahed Tamimi as an honorary member of the PNC.

Regarding the issue of the salaries of Gaza’s public employees, Abbas said the salaries for March were delayed due to technical issues and not as a sanction, saying the salaries of Gaza’s public sector will be paid within one day.



Related News

Read More